Profile of the department


The Department of Chemistry was founded in the year 1991 by offering the undergraduate programme B.Sc. Chemistry. The department has built up its reputation as one among the best in the field of Chemistry by providing standard scientific education.
B.Sc. Chemistry in Shift-II was introduced in the year 1995. The postgraduate programme M.Sc. Chemistry was introduced in the year 2002 and M.Phil. programme was introduced in the year 2009. It also offers Ph.D. programme in Chemistry from the year 2015. The Department strives hard to provide quality education in chemistry through updated syllabus, rigorous classroom teaching and laboratory experiments. It organizes seminars, conferences and workshops periodically.

The Department has dynamic staff members actively involved in teaching and research. The research areas include synthetic materials with biological applications,
nano-materials, isolation of natural products from plants, crystal growth and computational chemistry field including molecular docking. The Department has three well equipped and separate laboratories for UG & PG and research. The Department has a department library shelved around 120 titles of chemistry.

Salient Features of the Department

It has a well-equipped Instrumentation Lab for doing advanced Lab Experiments and Research. The Instrumental facilities are UV-VIS Spectrometer, electrochemical work stations. The curriculum is designed focusing on developing the following skills in our students: Employability Skills, Entrepreneurial Skills and Analytical Skills.


To produce chemists with adequate knowledge of chemistry and analytical skills.


To uplift economically backward and rural students by providing knowledge and skills in chemical sciences.

Programme Offered

B.Sc Chemistry
M.Sc Chemistry
M.Phil Chemistry
Ph.D Chemistry


B.Sc Chemistry 2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016.

M.Sc Chemistry 2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016.

M.Phil Chemistry 2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016.




Dr. V. Periyanayagasamy   M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,

Assistant Professor
  2.   98EM099 Mr. A. Amalorpavadoss   M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  3.   03EM181 Mr. M. Sebastian Marianathan   M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  4.   05EM260 Mr. T. Antony Sandosh   M.Sc., M.Phil., Hod & Assistant Professor
  5.   09EM026
Mr. G. Anand
  M.Sc., M.Phil., SET, Assistant Professor
  6.   11EM011 Ms. B. Christina   M.Sc., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  7.   12EM021 Mr. S. Richard Rajkumar   M.Sc., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  8.   13EM008 Mr. F. Paul Arokia Doss   M.Sc., M.Ed., M.Phil., SET, Assistant Professor
  9.   15EM010
Mr. S. Immanuel   M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  10.   15EM022 Mr. K. Vengadesan   M.Sc., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
  11.   16EM018 Dr. S. David Amal Raj   M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Assistant Professor
  12.   17EM005 Mr. S. Albert Nikson   M.Sc., M.Phil., SET, Assistant Professor
  13.   18EM001 Dr. D. Bhakiaraj   M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Assistant Professor
  18EM007 Dr. C. Adaikalaraj   M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Assistant Professor


Activities Report 2016-2017.

Activities Report 2017-2018.

Activities Report 2018-2019.

Activities Report 2019-2020.

Activities Report 2020-2021.

Value Added Courses:

Batch 1 click here.

Batch 2 click here.

Batch 3 click here.

Board of studies Members


Mr. T. Antony Sandosh

Head of the Department

Chair Person


Dr. K. S. Satheesh Kumar,

Associate professor, Department of Chemistry,

Arignar Anna Government Arts College,

Villupuram – 605602

University Nominee


Dr. C. Palanivel,

Assistant Professor,

Department of Chemistry,

Govt. Arts College, C. Mutlur

Subject Expert


Mr. P. Harinarayanan

Senior Manager, Quality Assurance

Strides Shasun

Cuddalore – SIPCOT – 607005

Representative from




Dr. V. Selvaraj

Associate Professor,

Department of Chemistry,

Anna University, Villupuram.



Dr. V. Periyanayagasamy

Mr. A. Amalorpavadoss

Mr. M. Sebastian Marianathan

Mr. G. Anand

Ms. B. Christina

Mr. S. Richard Rajkumar

Mr. F. Paul Arokia Doss

Mr. S. Immanuel

Mr. K. Vengadesan

Dr. S. David Amal Raj

Mr. S. Albert Nikson

Dr. D. Bhakiaraj

Dr. C. Adaikalaraj


Internal Members