profile of the department


B.Com (Shift I) started in 1991-92
B.Com (Shift II) started in 1995-96
B.B.M started in 1996-97
M.Com started in 2004-05
M. Phil started in 2009 – 10

Ph.D (Commerce) Full / Part time started in 2011-2012

To prepare students serve the society by becoming well qualified professionals, administrators, managers and self-skilled entrepreneurs.

To improve the students’ conceptual capabilities, suitable for fulfilling the latest needs and values to upgrade their skills and abilities for societal needs.

Courses offered

B.Com. Commerce
M.Com. Commerce
M.Phil. Commerce
Ph.D. Commerce


B.Com. Commerce 2019, 2015, 2014, 2013.
M.Com. Commerce 2019, 2015, 2014.


1 95EM053   Dr. I. Savarimuthu M.Com., M.Phil.,   M.B.A., M.Ed., Ph.D., Associate Professor   & Head
2 95EM072   Dr. L. Santhana Raj M.Com., M.A., M.B.M.,   M.Phil., Ph.D., Associate Professor
3 98EM120   Dr. R. Krishnakumar M.Com., M.Phil.,   M.B.A., Ph.D., PGDFM., SET, Associate Professor
4 02EM160   Dr. P. James Mary M.A., M.Com., SLET.,   Ph.D., Assistant Professor
5 03EM182   Dr. P. Vaitianadane @   Anbounadane M.Com., M.Phil.,   B.Ed., M.B.A., Ph.D., Assistant Professor
6 03EM204   Dr. F. Andrews M.Com., M.Com.(BIM),   M.Phil., Ph.D., Assistant Professor
7 05EM246   Dr. A. Radhakrishnan M.Com., M.Phil.,   B.Ed., Ph.D., PGDCM., SLET, Assistant Professor
8 05EM247   Mr. A. Albert Ravi M.Com., M.Phil.,   M.B.A., Assistant Professor
9 05EM248   Dr. P. Arul Prasad M.Com., M.Phil.,   M.B.A., B.L.I.S., Ph.D., Assistant Professor
10 10EM025   Mr. P. Benjamin   Rozario M.Com., M.Phil.,   M.H.R.M., M.B.A., SET, Assistant Professor
11 10EM026   Mr. D. Prabakaran M.Com., M.Phil.,   B.Ed., NET Assistant Professor
12 10EM027   Mrs. S. Baby   Motcharakkini M.Com., B.Ed.,   M.Phil., Assistant Professor
13 11EM007   Dr. M. John Bosco M.Com., M.Phil., Assistant Professor
14 19EM002   Dr. L. Vijayakumar M.Com., B.Ed.,   M.Phil., Ph.D., Assistant Professor



Association Inauguration was held on 12-09-2013.

PG & Research Department of Commerce in Association with Zenith Tally Academy conducted a one day seminar on “ERP Systems Supporting Industries & Companies” on 25-09-2013.

The Inter departmental cultural meet “CHRISTIME’13” was organized on 19 & 20-12-2013.

On 21st December 2013 the feast of Rev. Fr. Secretary & Christmas celebration were organized.

On 10.02.2014, a State Level seminar ‘Student’s Eye’, was organized.

Commet’14 – A National Level Inter Collegiate competition and Inter Departmental Exhibition was organized for 2 days on 20.02.2014 and 21.02.2014.


           The PG & Research Department of Commerce inaugurated its association on 24th July 2014. Dr. S. Soosai John Rosario, Asst. Professor in Commerce, Periyar Government Arts College, was the Chief Guest. The Presidential Address was delivered by Rev. Fr. Secretary who motivated us to conduct various departmental activities. Dr. I. Savarimuthu Head, Department of Commerce, introduced the Chief Guest Dr. S. Soosai John Rosario. The inaugural address was given by Chief Guest on the topic Practical oriented training to commerce students for Shift I & Women Empowerment for Shift II. Then, Rev. Fr. Charles, Administrator, shared his experience on his past days of Commerce Department which amused the students.

            A national Conference 8th Student’s Eye was organized on 24th September 2014. Dr. I. Savarimuthu, Head of the Department of Commerce welcomed the dignitaries. The chief guest Mr. Lawrence, Managing Director of Rani and Rani Company addressed the gathering. Rev. Fr. Secretary G. Peter Rajendiram in his presidential address appreciated the Head of the Department, staff & the Students for the dedicated service towards the betterment of student community. Rev. Fr. V. G. Charles, Administrator, Dr. S. Chinnappan Principal, Rev. Fr. S. Xavier Dean of Studies, Mr. M. Arumaiselvam Vice- Principal felicitated the function. The Resource person Dr. S. Soosai John Rosario Assistant Professor Commerce, Periyar Arts College, Cuddalore. Dr. A. William Associate Prof. of Economics, Aringar Anna Government Arts College, Villupuram, Mr. S. David Soundar Asst. Prof of English, Periyar Arts College, Cuddalore enlightened the students with their inspiring speeches. Dr. D. Elangovan Prof. of Commerce Annamalai University, Chidambaram was the Chief Guest of Valedictory function. The best paper presenters were awarded with cash price, shield ancertificates. Dr. I. Savarimuthu while delivering vote of thanks thanked the Management. He also thanked the members of the staff for their excellent cooperation and hard work, the student organizers for their
strenuous effort and commitment for the successful completion of the conference. He also appreciated specifically the students numbering 400 from 16 colleges for their participation and cooperation. The total number of participants were 715 and the total number of papers presented in the conference were 215.

The first Alumni meeting were organized on 24.01.2015.

On 31.01.2015, the department organized a guest lecture on Career Guidance.

The international conference on Contemporary Developments and Challenges in HRM (ICCODAC – HRM) was organized on 13th and 14th March, 2015.

Valedictory of our association was conducted on 8th April, 2015.


Board of studies Members


Dr. I. Savarimuthu

Head of the Department

Chair Person


Dr. F. R. Alexander Pravin Durai

Associate Professor & Head,

Department of  Commerce

St. Joseph’s College (Autonomous), Trichy – 620002

University Nominee


CA. K. Sridhar

Chartered Accountant

No.6, Sowbagya Avenue

RS Sridhar Road, Kottur, Chennai – 600085

Subject Expert


Mr. G. R. Durairaj

Managing Director of Schakralaya Motors (TATA)

Thirupapuliyur, Cuddalore – 607002

Representative from




Dr. P. Baskaran

Professor & Head, Department of Management Studies

Manakula Vinayagar Institute of Technology


Puducherry – 605107



Rucksar Begam A

PG & Research Department of Commerce

St. Joseph’s College of Arts & Science (Autonomous)




Dr. L. Santhana Raj

Dr. R. Krishnakumar

Dr. P. James Mary

Dr. P. Vaitianadane @ Anbounadane

Dr. F. Andrews

Dr. A. Radhakrishnan

Mr. A. Albert Ravi

Dr. P. Arul Prasad

Mr. P. Benjamin Rozario

Mr. D. Prabakaran

Mrs. S. Baby Motcharakkini

Mr. M. John Bosco

Dr. L. Vijayakumar

Internal Members