profile of the department

Computer Science
The department of Computer Science an application was inaugurated on the 22nd of august 1991. During its inception, the department had B.Sc computer science as the only faculty with strength of 25 student supported by 3 members of the teaching staff. From then on, the computer science department found a tremendous growth with the growing demand for computer science processionals.
Realizing the growing strength of students, a new building “Ruby jubilee block” exclusively for the Department of computer science was inaugurated on the 31st august 2002 by His Eminence Cardinal simon Lourdusamy.

Courses offered

B.Sc. Computer Science
M.Sc. Computer Science
M.Sc. Information Technology
M.Phil. Computer Science


B.Sc. Computer Science  2015, 2014, 2013.
M.Sc. Computer Science  2015, 2014.
M.Sc. Information Technology 2015.


         Josebytes, the association from computer science was formed by the faculty members of the department of Computer Science to kindle the technical, creative and attitudinal virtues of the students. The association serves as a runway for organizing periodical seminars, workshops, lecture series, quiz contest and open sessions which highlights on recent trends and technologies in IT. The students of the department organize festivals and participate in cultural festival organized by other colleges.

Our department organised a one day seminar on “Behavior Management & Personal Management” for both UG & PG final year students on 14/08/2013.

A National Level Technical Symposium “COMPEIN’13” was organized by Josebytes Association on 11th October 2013 and was inaugurated by Lt. Dr. S. Santhosh Baboo, Professor in D. G. Vaishnav College, Chennai. Various competitions were conducted among 27 colleges for the day and the prizes were distributed by the chief guest M.O.H.F Shahjahan, Former Education Minister, Pondicherry during the Valedictory function in the evening. Pope John Paul II College of Education, Pondicherry won the Overall Championship for the events.

Our department students participated in the technical symposium conducted by Pondicherry Engineering College, Pondicherry on 25th and 26th February and won prizes. Our Students participated in the Inter-College Technical meet conducted by St.Joseph’s College, Thirunavalur on 7th March 2013 and won the overall championship for the events.

The staff and students took part and organized an Extension project on Computer Literacy program for the Government Middle school at Vadugapalayam, Cuddalore on 7th march 2014. Students actively participated and encouraged the young minds in school to learn and use computers in daily life.

2014 – 2015

 The Inauguration function of the Josebytes Association was organized on 06th of August 2014. Dr. R. M. Chandrasekaran., B.E., M.E., M.B.A., Ph.D, Director, Directorate of Distance Education, Annamalai University was the Chief Guest of the occasion. Rev. Fr. V. G. Charles and Rev. Fr. S. Xavier felicitated the gathering with their blissful and encouraging thoughts. The Chief Guest Dr. R. M .Chandrasekaran then inaugurated the Poster Presentation event organized by the Shift II Students in Indoor Auditorium after the function got over.

Shift I Students conducted Tech Expo’14, a Technical Exhibition on 3rd September 2014.

A seminar on “Project Making” was organized by Josebytes’14 on 12th September 2014.

Our Students from Shift I participated in APPLAZE’14 held in Achariya College of Engineering and Technology on 4th September 2014. L. Sathish and R. Chilambarasan from III CSA won the First Prize in “Technical Quiz” with a cash award of Rs.700.

The Shift II students participated in Interdepartmental Competition held in Rajiv Gandhi College of Engineering and Technology and won II Prize in Treasure Hunt competition.

A National Level Technical Symposium “COMPEIN’2k15” was organized by Josebytes Association on 21st February 2015.