profile of the department


The department of physics was established in the year 1991 – 1992 with a view to fostering scientific temper among the students and to develop independent thinking achieving goals. An additional batch for the girls was started in the year 2002 – 2003.The department started offering M. Sc from 2008 – 2009, M. Phil from 2010 – 2011. The department has also got affiliation for offering Ph. D in 2018 – 2019 from Thiruvalluvar University, Vellore.

The department has six fully equipped and roomy laboratories, which helps students to get more practical knowledge about the subject, trigger students to do more research works and may brought research finding by the way of publishing research articles in highly reputed scientific journals. The department has set up a department library for the benefit of student as well as for faculties. The method of teaching was improvised by ICT mode of teaching, OHP, E-learning, virtual groups, virtual labs and the department also set up a smart room to provide better understanding of the subject to the students.

Secretarial work:
The department faculty members carry out many research works in the field of Nano ferrites, Thin films, Crystal growth, Molecular docking, Quantum computational research etc. To provide an opportunity for students to gain up knowledge on the subject as well as to compete the competitive examinations regular guest lecturers both by the faculty and experts from outside are being arranged. The department provides Value added courses to enhance additional skills of students.The department has so far organized 4 International Conferences and several workshops, seminars and poster presentations, software training which helps students to get disparate knowledge.Continuous efforts are taken to make students academically well qualified .

The department aims to provide men and a women academically and scientifically qualified towards the research in various fields for development of our nation.

The department offers scientific education and morals through well qualified and dedicated staff.
To imparts scientific and technical knowledge to meet the challenges in the present scenario through effective faculty members.

Programmes offered

B.Sc Physics
M.Sc Physics
M.Phil Physics
Ph.D Physics
Diploma in Electrical and Electronic Instrumentation (DEEI)


B.Sc Physics 2021,2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016.

M.Sc Physics  2021,2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016.

M.Phil Physics  2021,2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016.


1 11EM024 Rev. Fr. Dr. S. Xavier M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D., Hod & Assistant Professor
2 09EM009
Dr. V. Sathana
M.Sc.,   M.Phil., PGDCA., Ph.D., Assistant   Professor
3 10EM032
Dr. M. Sathish
M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D., SET, Assistant   Professor
4 11EM019 Dr. R. Sagaya Raj M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D., Assistant   Professor
5 13EM003 Dr. K. Elaya Kumar M.Sc., M.Ed., Ph.D., Assistant   Professor
6 14EM005 Dr. H. Jude Leonard Hilary M.Sc., M.Phil., M.Ed., Ph.D., Assistant   Professor
7 14EM006 Mrs. M. Maria Julie M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil., Assistant   Professor
8 11EM027
Ms. S. Sangeetha Margreat
M.Sc., M.Phil., Assistant   Professor
9 15EM006 Dr. S. Sebastian M.Sc., Ph.D., Assistant   Professor
10 19EM005 Dr. D. Shoba M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., B.Ed., Assistant   Professor


Activities Report 2016-2017.


Activities Report 2017-2018.

Activities Report 2018-2019.

Activities Report 2019-2020.

Activities Report 2020-2021.

Board of studies Members



Controller of Examinations & Head of the Department

Chair Person


Dr. A. Albert Irudayaraj

Associate Professor & Head,

Department of Physics

Sacred Heart College (Autonomous),

Tirupattur – 635601

University Nominee


Dr. R. Thilak Kumar

Asst. Professor, Department of Physics,

Periyar Govt. Arts College,

Cuddalore – 607001.

Subject Expert


Mr. S Balamurugan

Scientific Officer

Indian Meteorological Division

Cuddalore – 607001

Representative from




Mr. E. Sivakumar

Scientific Assistant

Dr. A. P. J. Abdhul Kalam Science Centre & Planetarium

Lawspet, Puducherry – 605008



Dr. V. Sathana

Dr. M. Sathish

Mr. R. Sagaya Raj

Mr. K. Elaya Kumar

Mr. H. Jude Leonard Hilary

Mrs. M. Maria Julie

Ms. S. Sangeetha Margreat

Dr. S. Sebastian

Dr. P. Praveen

Dr. C. Yogambal

Dr. D. Shoba

Internal Members